Pedro leaves game in fourth but bullpen helps make it a one-hitter

Pedro Martinez, Carlos Muniz, Aaron Heilman, Scott Schoeneweis and Billy Wagner combined for the 31st full-length one-hitter in New York Mets history Saturday as the Mets beat the Colorado Rockies 3-0 and moved to within a half game of the first-place Philadelphia Phillies.

Martinez was pulled for a pinch-hitter in the bottom of the fourth inning after dealing with tightness in his right shoulder. He lost his no-hitter in the top half of the inning when Brad Hawpe singled to right, making it 7,414 Mets games without a no-hitter.

But the bullpen finished out the game without allowing another hit for the first Mets one-hitter since Sept. 29, 2007. On that day, John Maine (7 2/3 innings), Willie Collazo (1/3 inning) and Muniz (1 inning) combined to one-hit the Florida Marlins 13-0, giving the team a chance to reach the postseason on the final day of the 2007 season. (We all know that didn’t happen)

The Mets have now allowed three hits or less in five straight games – a Major League record according to – after following up their previous four three-hit performances. More importantly, the Mets earned their eighth straight victory as they climb into contention in the National League East as the All-Star break approaches.

We all know how rare a Mets no-hitter is (I’m hoping to eventually see one in my lifetime) but Mets pitchers have come just one hit shy of the glorious no-no 31 times (not counting two 2007 rain-shortened one-hitters). Tom Seaver threw five of them, while Jon Matlack, Gary Gentry, David Cone and Steve Trachsel each had two (Cone also participated in a third). With Saturday’s performance, Muniz has now participated in two.

For the full list of Mets one-hitters, visit our One-hitters by Mets pitchers page.

As far as no-hitters go, Billy Wagner (who saved Saturday’s one-hitter with a perfect ninth) participated in one when he was a member of the Houston Astros.

In that June 11, 2003 game, Roy Oswalt (1 inning), Peter Munro (2 2/3 innings), Kirk Saarloos (1 1/3 innings), Brad Lidge (2 innings), Octavio Dotel (1 inning) and Wagner (1 inning) combined to beat the New York Yankes 8-0. That game is significant in that it was the only inter-league no-hitter (although Don Larsen’s 1956 World Series perfect game is technically inter-league) and it represents the most pitchers used to combine for a no-hitter.

This entry was posted in Regular season games and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *