Rays’ cycle makes Padres only team with no-cycle, no no-no

B.J. Upton became the first Tampa Bay Rays player to hit for the cycle, leaving the San Diego Padres as the only Major League team void of both a cycle and a no-no.

Upton accomplished the rare feat Friday night in Tampa during the Rays’ 13-4 victory over the New York Yankees, so now the San Diego Padres and the Florida Marlins are the only two MLB franchises without a player hitting for the cycle.

The cycle is nearly as rare a feat as a no-hitter, with 291 during baseball history as opposed to 263 no-hitters. (We go into greater detail on our No-hitter vs. hit for cycle page.)

The four teams without a no-hitter are the Padres, the Rays, the Colorado Rockies and … of course … the New York Mets.

Four Mets players have hit for the cycle during their 48-year history – Jim Hickman, Tommie Agee, Mike Phillips, Keith Hernandez, Kevin McReynolds, Alex Ochoa, John Olerud, Eric Valent and Jose Reyes.

This entry was posted in Regular season games. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *