Twins 5, Mets 0 (7 counting the Senators’ days)

Francisco Liriano threw the season’s first no-hitter Tuesday, giving the Minnesota Twins a 5-0 victory over the New York Mets in no-hitters since 1962.

That year, of course, was the one that the Mets came into existence. And although the former Washington Senators actually began their tenure in Minnesota in 1961, the Twins notched Minnesota’s first no-hitter in 1962, when Jack Kralick held the Kansas City Athletics hitless during a 1-0 shutout on Aug. 26.

The Twins’ all-time no-no list is rounded out by Dean Chance and Scott Erickson (who both hold spots on our No-hitters … before they came to the Mets page) and Eric Milton.

And, if you count the team’s Washington Senators’ games as part of the franchise, the score bumps up to 7-0 (Walter Johnson no-hit Boston on July 1, 1920 and Bob Burke tossed a no-no against them on Aug. 8, 1931).

Here’s the summary of the Mets no-nos … none.

This entry was posted in Regular season games. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Twins 5, Mets 0 (7 counting the Senators’ days)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *