The no-hitter train rolls on without Mets caboose

While some of us were sleeping, the #nohitter train rolled on without the #Mets caboose Wednesday as the Los Angeles Angels’ Jered Weaver no-hit the Minnesota Twins for 274th no-no in baseball history.

It’s the Angels’ 10th in their 51-year history (reminder, Mets ZERO in 50-year history) and the Halos’ second since July. And it comes within three days of the 50th anniversary of the Angels’ first no-no by Bo Belinsky on May 5, 1962.

Of course, four of the Angels’ no-nos were thrown by ex-Met Nolan Ryan, who was traded by the Mets with Don Rose, Francisco Estrada, and Leroy Stanton for Jim Fregosi in December 1971.

Here’s the team’s nine other no-nos:

  • Ervin Santana, July 27, 2011, Los Angeles Angels 3, Cleveland Indians 1
  • Mark Langston (7 in), Mike Witt (2 in), April 11, 1990, California Angels 1, Seattle Mariners 0
  • Mike Witt, Sept. 30, 1984, California Angels 1, Texas Rangers 0
  • Nolan Ryan, June 1, 1975 California Angels 1, Baltimore Orioles 0
  • Nolan Ryan, Sept. 28, 1974, California Angels 4, Minnesota Twins 0
  • Nolan Ryan, July 15, 1973, California Angels 6 Detroit Tigers 0
  • Nolan Ryan, May 15, 1973 California Angels 3, Kansas City Royals 0
  • Clyde Wright, July 3, 1970, California Angels 4, Oakland Athletics 0
  • Bo Belinsky, May 5, 1962, Los Angeles Angels 2 Baltimore Orioles 0

Another interesting side note, Witt is the only pitcher in baseball history to both throw his own no-hitter and close out a combined one.

This entry was posted in Tweets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *